Today, Bell champions Mental Health Awareness, and it makes me ask what causes do your companies promote and does it make a difference in purchasing from them? Bell has a lot of publicity for today and it made me think of other companies and what they do to make the world better:

Rogers  – United Way, Writers Trust of Canada, Volunteer Program, Canadian Women’s Foundation, ABC Life Literacy Canada

Citi Bank– Daily Bread Food Bank, Habit for Humanity, Terry Fox, United Way, Global Community Day

Walmart – Volunteerism Always Pays (VAP), Associate Giving Program, Scholarships, Disaster Relief and Resiliency

Bestbuy – Geek Squad Academy, School Tech Grants,

Home Depot – The Orange Door Project (Combat Youth Homelessness)

Metro – Community Investment Program 

It doesn’t matter to me, but it gives a warm feeling inside if you do support/purchase from a company that helps make the world a better place. I feel like it is important for a company to do good deeds and support the community, but they shouldn’t expect to have more customers because of that.

Some people argue that spreading awareness is not good enough for the company (Bell); that they should be doing more to directly combat the issue. But I disagree, imho, raising awareness is critical in mobilizing the general masses. It is only when we are aware of the issue and how it affects both ourselves and those around us, when we start to care and do something about it (“give a man a fish vs teaching him how to fish”).

I personally only know of one person that publicly acknowledges that they have a mental illness, but I never really knew much about it, or even what it really is.
How do you define having a mental illness?
Partially due to my curious nature, but mostly because there was so much media attention to it, I went on the Canadian Mental Health Associate website today to learn more about it. I’m quite sure this was the same case for many people today; instead of going about my normal routine, I spent time learning about an important illness that affects 1 in 5 people. While I still don’t have a very good grasp on the concept, i’m more aware of it and that is the first step to making the world around us a better place.

